All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


The Beauty of Not Knowing by Ian Michael Brown

From the album

Album Title: The Beauty of Not Knowing
Label: Indie Recordings
Released: 2019
Duration: 01:07:36


Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Keeping it real. Not cloying, not crammed, it's music for unravelling minds.

About the Album

First track off the album "The Beauty of Not Knowing" released in July 2019. The song Don't Look Down features solos from bassist Sebastian Forero Barrera, pianist Ian Michael Brown, and tenor saxophonist Eric DeFade. It was written based off a piano ostenato pattern using McCoy style voicings and uses odd meters in the B and D sections. The tune is written in an ABA'C form for the head.

Track Listing

Don't Look Down; The Beauty of Not Knowing; Point of Contact; Moss and Mudd; Prayer to the Morning Light; The Art of Rising and Falling; Thoughts from the Heart; Going Home; A Rose at Dawn; Off Kilter.


Additional Personnel

Ian Michael Brown: piano & keyboards; Sebastian Forero Barrera: bass; Cristhian Cavanzo: drums; Dave Brown: guitar; Eric DeFade: tenor saxophone.


Date featured

August 10, 2019

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and through our retail affiliations you'll support us in the process.


Rare vinyl LPs and CDs from over 1,000 independent sellers


CDs, Vinyl, Blu-Ray DVDS, Prime membership, Alexa, SONOS and more


Specializing in high resolution and CD-quality downloads


Specializing in music, movies and video games


Marketplace for new, used, and vintage instruments and gear

Free Tracks

It's Too Darn Hot
It's Too Darn Hot

Joyce Elaine Yuille

USS Rent-a-Car
USS Rent-a-Car

Mark Godfrey


Emiliano Sampaio