All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Revolution Blues by Chelsea McBride

From the album

Album Title: Aftermath
Label: Self Produced
Released: 2019
Duration: 01:14:06


Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Big chills intro, fine composing, a little run-on in places but brass and horns are immaculate. There's a seat at the front for Kurt Elling...

About the Album

In 2017, Toronto composer and saxophonist Chelsea McBride wowed critics and listeners alike with The Twilight Fall, the first full-length album from her large ensemble Socialist Night School. Two years later, Chelsea and co. are back with an even more ambitious follow up: Aftermath. This is an album that explores conflict in all its forms: macro and micro, internal and interpersonal. It's an exploration of the things that we do to each other out of hurt, and the consequences of those actions. “The works found on this album were meant to be dark, and scary,” explains McBride. “Conflict is never an easy thing to explore. But I can't look at all the hurt that inspired this recording without remembering that even in the worst moments... somehow there is hope. People are inherently good. We may gravitate to the negative at times, but we could use a little more practice of love and gratitude. To remember that if we don't teach, no one learns, and if we don't open, no one loves. Consider this album to be an invitation and a call to action: to be true to your word, to own your actions, and your commitment to making the world a better place. No one person has all the answers, all things right, all things good. But you are much stronger when you're not alone.” It's an ode to and an antidote for times of division – times such as these. Aftermath will be released worldwide on Friday, November 1st, 2019.

Track Listing

Revolution Blues; Say You Love Me; The Righteous and the Wicked; Ballad of the Arboghast; House On Fire; The Void Becomes You; Fly By Night; Niagara; Porcelain; Love Is On The Line.


Chelsea McBride
Chelsea McBride


Additional Personnel

Chelsea McBride: tenor sax, conductor, composer; Colleen Allen: soprano and alto saxophones, piccolo, flute, alto flute; Naomi Higgins: soprano and alto saxophones, flute, alto flute; Alison Young: tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet; Patrick Smith: tenor and soprano saxophones, flute, clarinet; Conrad Gluch: baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet, alto flute; James Rhodes: trumpet, flugelhorn; Justin See: trumpet, flugelhorn; Tom Upjohn: trumpet, flugelhorn; Kaelin Murphy: trumpet, flugelhorn; William Carn: trombone; Aidan Sibley: trombone; Jill Richards: trombone; Nicholas Sieber: bass trombone, tuba; Alex Samaras: voice; Chris Bruder: piano; David Riddel: guitar; Steven Falk: upright and electric basses; Geoff Bruce: drums.


Date featured

November 1, 2019

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Shop Amazon

Free Tracks

Choro Pro Zé
Choro Pro Zé

Ramiro Pinheiro


Russell Ferrante

Been Down This Road Before
Been Down This Road Before

Clifton Anderson

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.