All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Resilience by Jesse Fischer

From the album

Album Title: Resilience
Label: Soul Cycle Music
Released: 2020
Duration: 44:50:00


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

Pianist/producer/composer Jesse Fischer is proud to announce his latest project Resilience, scheduled for release on August 7, 2020 . Comprising nine new original compositions, Resilience explores the connections between groove-based modern jazz, music of the African diaspora, and Fischer’s own Jewish heritage. Featured guests include GRAMMY-nominated trumpeter Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah , vocalists Becca Stevens and Sarah Elizabeth Charles , harmonica master Gregoire Marét , and young lion Morgan Guerin , appearing on tenor sax, EWI, and drums, plus a cameo from master percussionist Mino Cinélu . Notwithstanding its eclectic blend of styles, Resilience p resents an underlying narrative reflecting the struggles of our time, ultimately resolving in an urgent call to peace and healing. Although the project was conceived and recorded prior to the coronavirus pandemic and the national reckoning on race and policing, many of the themes on Resilience r emain all too relevant, as the title takes on new meaning in the current context. “A lot of material for this album was inspired by my feeling the world was spinning more and more wildly out of control,” explains Fischer. “I truly hope this music can bring joy, strength and comfort in these heart-wrenching times, as well as paint a picture of the cycles of oppression we seem to be caught in as a society.” Resilience opens strong with the title track “Resilience” , an ode to personal identity and strength in the face of adversity, featuring the unmistakable trumpet of Christian Scott Atunde Adjuah . “As soon as I came up with this tune and concept, I knew it had to have Christian’s voice on it,” Fischer shares. “He’s a visionary, and he’s been a huge influence on me, as a composer, improviser, and overall conceptualizer.” Fischer takes a contemplative piano solo, followed by a mournful, wailing trumpet solo by Scott, evoking the Blues as much as a doina from the Klezmer tradition, and then Fischer returns for a blistering Moog synthesizer solo over the outro.

Track Listing

Resilience; Healing; Push/Pull; Reflection Point; Chorale; Play Date; The Wanderer; Same Mistakes; Meditation on Peace.


Jesse Fischer
Billy Buss
Godwin Louis
Morgan Guerin
Keita Ogawa
Mino Cinelu
Daniel Winshall
bass, acoustic
Becca Stevens
voice / vocals
Gregoire Maret
Sarah Elizabeth Charles
voice / vocals

Date featured

December 26, 2020

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Shop Amazon

Free Tracks

The Alchemist
Scott Reeves
Sarah Wilson
Natsuki Tamura
A Gathering Storm
Aaron Bahr


Un Poco Loco
Dave Bass
Miguel de Armas
Patrick Noland
Jake Hanlon
Roots To Branches
Soojin Suh
Saturday Blue
Márk Fenyves

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.