All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day

Live! Songbook Watch Party with Dominick Farinacci

Songbook Watch Party with Host Dominick Farinacci


Itajuba by Macuco Quintet

From the album

Album Title: Friendly Signs
Released: 2018


Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

While the leading and retiring sax phrases may make for glances towards the back mirror, the song as is after the 2min mark is worth the slow build.

About the Album

The title refers to a small beach town in Southern Brazil. The repeated saxophone/bass backgrounds roll in like waves, and alto saxophonist Rick Stone floats over it all. Our album Friendly Signs is mainly a mix of Brazilian and jazz influences with a somewhat unusual instrumentation: three saxophones, electric bass, and drums. Ten original compositions by Joel Springer and one by Julius Hemphill. Hope you like it!

Track Listing

Macucos; Itajuba; Friendly Signs; Modernismo; More Serious; Os Gêmeos; Postcard to Carla; Sun & Clouds; Leaping Over a Black Pool; Johannzinho; Touchic' (by Julius Hemphill).


Macuco Quintet
Macuco Quintet


Additional Personnel

Allan Chase: soprano, alto, baritone saxophones; Rick Stone: alto saxophone (right channel); Joel Springer: tenor, sopranino saxophones; Fernando Huergo: bass; Austin McMahon: drums, percussion.


Date featured

June 7, 2018

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and through our retail affiliations you'll support us in the process.


Rare vinyl LPs and CDs from over 1,000 independent sellers


CDs, Vinyl, Blu-Ray DVDS, Prime membership, Alexa, SONOS and more


Specializing in high resolution and CD-quality downloads


Specializing in music, movies and video games


Marketplace for new, used, and vintage instruments and gear

Free Tracks

It's Too Darn Hot
It's Too Darn Hot

Joyce Elaine Yuille

USS Rent-a-Car
USS Rent-a-Car

Mark Godfrey


Emiliano Sampaio