All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Dig Up The Stories by Rebecca Hennessy

From the album

Album Title: All The Little Things You Do
Label: Self Produced
Released: 2020
Duration: 01:03:00


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

All The Little Things You Do is a beautifully written, performed and produced album by award-winning vocalist, trumpeter and songwriter Rebecca Hennessy. It deals with love, grief and mental health. Being released between the death of her mother and the birth of her first child, this album will take you on a journey that weaves through time and space in unexpected ways. All of the elements of her diverse musical career merge together, with her warm clear voice as lead singer and songwriter featured front and centre. Rebecca’s songwriting brings to mind many different musical traditions, including jazz, folk, roots and pop. Her band on this album is world-acclaimed and celebrated musical voices, including guitarist Kevin Breit (Sister’s Euclid, Johnny Goldtooth, Norah Jones); pianist Tania Gill (Happiness Project, Tania Gill Quartet); bassist Michael Herring (Peripheral Vision, Bona Fide Scoundrels) and drummer Dave Clark (Rheostatics, Gord Downie). Other guests include The Upper York Mandolin Orchestra, Thomas King (Inconvenient Indian, CBC’s Dead Dog Cafe), Tom Richards (The Heavyweights Brass Band, The Human Rights), Drew Jurecka (Jill Barber, Royal Wood), Claire Doyle (YUKA) and Alex Samaras (Beverly Glenn-Copeland, Queer Songbook Orchestra). This is Rebecca’s first album collaborating with award-winning producer and engineer David Travers-Smith (Jane Siberry, Veda Hille, Jayme Stone, The Wailin’ Jennys, and Deerhoof). David’s attuned creative input and overall aesthetic brought All The Little Things You Do a level of lush expression that masterfully served each song and the overall shape of the album. This album features collaborations with numerous artists, including musical settings of two poems by internationally-acclaimed author Thomas King (“Nothing Passes for Favour” and “Dig Up The Stories,” both from King’s new collection of poetry 77 Fragments of a Familiar Ruin. All The Little Things You Do will be released on November 6th, 2020.

Track Listing

All The Little Things You Do; Magnolia; Loving You; Deeper Than The Dark Blue Sea; Keep The Light Bright; There's One Thing; Dr Good; Eclipse; It's A Beautiful Day To Say Goodbye; Dig Up The Stories; When Stars Shine Bright; Nothing Passes For Favour; When You Say Goodnight To Me


Additional Personnel

Tom Richards, trombone; Alex Samaras, voice; Claire Doyle, voice, Drew Jurecka, violin and viola; Thomas King, narration

Date featured

December 28, 2020

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Shop Amazon

Free Tracks


Push the Limits
Ben Patterson
Third Teen
Dennis Winge
The Sea
Tania Giannouli
Home at Last
Amit Friedman
Keith Pray
Rodney Whitaker

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.