"Your Word Alone" by JC Sanford

From the album

Views from the Inside
By JC Sanford


Sign in to view download count

Fiona's Comments

The unconventional jazz band -- the one described with superfluous wordage, that plays irregular instruments irregularly. Classic.

About the Album

Trombonist and composer JC Sanford's new album "Views from the Inside" (May 20th, Whirlwind Recordings) participates in a new phenomenon on the current jazz scene: the resurgence of the orchestra, or big band. Sanford employs the resources of fifteen outstanding players (including such celebrated contemporary stylists as trumpeter Taylor Haskins, vibraphonist Tom Beckham and percussionist Satoshi Takeishi) in an ensemble that draws on such unconventional jazz band instrumentation as French horn, accordion, tuba, English horn, oboe, bassoon, violin and cello. JC Sanford: composer, conductor, trombone;

Satoshi Takeishi: percussion;

Jacob Garchik: accordion;

Tom Beckham: vibraphone;

Meg Okura: violin, electronics;

Will Martina: cello, electronics;

Aidan O'Donnell: acoustic bass;

Dan Willis: oboe, piccolo, flute, soprano sax;

Ben Kono: English horn, bass clarient, clarinet, flute, alto sax;

Chris Bacas: clarinet, soprano sax, tenor sax;

Kenny Berger: contra-alto clarinet, bassoon, alto flute;

Taylor Haskins: trumpet, fugelhorn, harmonizer;

Matt Holman: trumpet, fugelhorn;

Mark Patterson: tenor trombone;

Jeff Nelson: tuba, bass trombone;

Chris Komer: F horn.

Date featured

July 15, 2014

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


More Free MP3s

A Ramble
A Ramble (7:33)
By: Ben Cohen
From: Viriditas (Self Produced)
Rhythm Or Rhyme
Rhythm Or Rhyme (5:07)
By: Sam Friend
From: Twin (Self Produced)
Caravan (05:19)
By: Fostina Dixon-Kilgoe
From: Caravan (Self Produced)
O Zitianos Tis Agapis
O Zitianos Tis Agapis (06:32)
By: Antoine Karacostas
From: Trails (Self Produced)
30 Orchard Street (feat. Rich Perry)
30 Orchard Street (feat. Rich Perry) (11:58)
By: Niculin Janett Quartet
From: No Parking Any Time (QFTF)
Moving Day
Moving Day (07:12)
By: Joe Garrison & Night People
From: The People Upstairs (Self Produced)
Beautiful Dreamer
Beautiful Dreamer (8:13)
By: Pete McGuinness Jazz Orchestra
From: Strength in Numbers (Summit Records)
Elmoic (06:20)
By: Alexander Hawkins
From: All There, Ever Out (Babel)
Obsession (06:58)
By: Mark O'Leary
From: Snow (TIBProd. Italy)
Playground (06:26)
By: David Friesen
From: Where The Light Falls (Self Produced)
Inter-funk (7:13)
By: Paul Zaborac
From: Actualize (Self Produced)
Just A Closer Walk With Thee
Just A Closer Walk With Thee (03:58)
By: Terry Waldo
From: The Soul of Ragtime (Tompkins Square)

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus

Sponsor: ECM Records | BUY NOW  

Support our sponsor

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google ads that appear on every page for a full year!

Buy it!