All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Uncertain Times by Florian Hoefner

From the album

Album Title: Songs Without Words
By: Florian Hoefner
Label: OA2 Records
Released: 2012


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

An album that does a brilliant job building on statements of melody. An unequivocally catchy album that is a joy to hear.

About the Album

New York-based pianist Florian Hoefner, best known in his native Germany through tours with the group Subtone, brings his unique brand of modern jazz to New York City with Songs Without Words. Using many of his contemporaries in the New York jazz scene, the two-time winner of the ASCAP Young Jazz Composer Award presents a set of original compositions with appeal to a wide span of music fans and jazz lovers alike. Personnel: Florian Hoefner (piano), Mike Ruby (soprano & tenor sax), Sam Anning (bass), and Peter Kronreif (drums).

Track Listing

Cross Hill; Uncertain Times; Sometimes; Song of the Past; Distraction; Ivory; Ankunft; Behind the Sun.


Mike Ruby: tenor and soprano saxophone; Florian Hoefner: piano; Sam anning: bass; Peter Kronreif: drums.


Date featured

July 16, 2012

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

About Florian Hoefner
Articles | Calendar | Discography | Photos | More...

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Track of the day


Ezra Weiss

Mystery Rising
Mystery Rising

Rez Abbasi

Love and Restraint
Love and Restraint

Łukasz Borowicki