All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Beyond The Blue by Tessa Souter

From the album

Album Title: Beyond The Blue
By: Tessa Souter
Label: Motema Music
Released: 2012


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

Tessa Souter’s fourth CD and second for Motéma Music, the London-born Anglo-Trinidadian New Yorker assembles a dozen classical melodies by composers such as Beethoven, Brahms, Schubert, and Chopin. On the album’s title track, Souter draws from Chopin’s Prelude in E Minor (which in 1963 also inspired Antonio Carlos Jobim’s “Insensatez”) and pens her own lyrics on this romantic ballad.

Track Listing

Prelude To The Sun; The Lamp Is Low; Dance With Me; Chiaroscuro; My Reverie; En Aranjuez Con Tu Amor; Sunrise; Baubles, Bangles And Beads; Beyond The Blue; The Darkness Of Your Eyes; Noa's Dreams; Brand New Day.


Tessa Souter: vocals; Steve Kuhn: piano; David Finck: bass; Billy Drummond: drums; Joe Locke: vibraphone; Gary Versace: accordion; Joel Frahm: saxophones.


Date featured

May 25, 2012

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

About Tessa Souter
Articles | Calendar | Discography | Photos | More...

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Track of the day

Blues For All
Blues For All

Luke Gillespie


Ezra Weiss

Mystery Rising
Mystery Rising

Rez Abbasi