"Creamy Center" by Peter Epstein

From the album

Abstract Realism
Record Label: Origin Records
By Peter Epstein
Released: 2010


Sign in to view download count

Broken link? Report it to us

About the Album

Saxophonist Peter Epstein's band, Ide Fixe, has been an act of love (and obsession) since 1997. Along with guitarist Andy Barbera, Sam Minaie on bass, and Matt Mayhall on drums, the group is joined on their debut recording by special guests Gavin Templeton on saxophones and Brian Walsh on bass clarinet, as they create fully realized, spontaneously-composed music with neither discussion or forethought. The occasional compositions that do get played are minimal and are intended merely to tip the same collective improvisational process in a specific direction, always with a mind to making music that is both inherently listenable and transcends any assumed limitations associated with free improvisation. As they pursue their obsessions, Peter Epstein and Ide Fixe are willing to take the arduous route - with no maps or GPS - in order to guide the listeners to some rarely visited, but truly inspired and beautiful places.

Track Listing

Painfully Simple; Face of a Whale; Four 1; Deep Breathing; Creamy Center; Air 1; Air 2; Dark to Light; Four 2; Abstract Realism.


Peter Epstein: alto saxophone; Andy Barbera: guitar; Sam Minaie: bass Matt Mayhall: drums; Brian Walsh: bass clarinet; Gavin Templeton: alto saxophone, soprano saxophone.


Date featured

June 10, 2010

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

comments powered by Disqus

Sponsor: ECM Records | BUY IT!  

Support our sponsor

Join the staff. Writers Wanted!

Develop a column, write album reviews, cover live shows, or conduct interviews.