All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


The Rhythm of Invention by Wayne Wallace Latin Jazz Quintet

From the album

Album Title: The Rhythm of Invention
Label: Patois Records
Released: 2019


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

"The Rhythm of Invention" is the title track from Grammy nominated trombonist, composer, arranger and educator Wayne Wallace's album of the same name. The song brings together funk, bata, and traditional Cuban rhythms and encompasses three generations of musical wisdom. On one end is Dr. David Baker, "the father of jazz education," with whom Wallace worked closely as a professor at Indiana University before Baker's death in 2016, and whose resonant voice is heard, midway through the track, discussing the essence of jazz rhythm. On the other end is Wallace's son-in-law, Akida Thomas, channeling the music to speak of "The pulse gyrating through the system . . . Boom-clacks all rolled into one, stay connected through the soul of the drum.” The band featured on the album is Wallace’s acclaimed Latin Jazz Quintet along with a chamber orchestra and jazz horns. The result is a dazzling set of new compositions and classic jazz standards on which Wallace uses the expanded sonic palette of an orchestra to highlight the strengths of his core conjunto. Undergirding it all is an effortlessly instructive survey of Latin rhythms, from the familiar to the arcane, that reflect Wallace’s lifelong study of these sounds.

Track Listing

Vámonos Pa’l Monte; Take Five; All the Things You Are; So What—Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise; The Rhythm of Invention; In a Mist; El Arroyo; Se Me Cayó el Veinte; Atardecer Matanceco (Evening in Matanzas); Mi Descarga.


Additional Personnel

Wayne Wallace: trombone; Murray Low: piano; David Belove: bass; Colin Douglas: drums and percussion; Michael Spiro: congas and percussion; with guests: Dayren Santamaria: violin (1, 8); Mary Fettig: flute, soprano and saxophones, and bass clarinet (1, 2, 5, 8, 10); Masaru Koga: tenor saxophone (5, 10); Melecio Magdaluyo:baritone saxophone (5, 10; Erik Jekabson: trumpet (5, 10); John Worley: trumpet (5, 10); Brennan Johns: bass trombone (2, 4, 7, 9); Miró Sobrer: trombone (2, 4, 7, 9); Matthew Waterman: trombone (2, 4, 7, 9); David Baker: pre-recorded interview (5); Sean Weber: trombone (2, 4, 7, 9); Eugene Chuklov: violin (3, 5, 6); Niki Fukuda: violin (3, 5, 6); Maria Romero: violin (3, 5); Daniel Stein: violin (3, 5); Edith Szendrey: viola (3, 5); Rose Wollman: viola (3, 5, 6); Kelly Knox: cello (3, 5); Monica Scott: cello (3, 5, 6); Akida Thomas: spoken word (5).


Date featured

April 16, 2020

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Free Tracks


Mark Sherman


Matthias Bergmann

Half Joking
Half Joking

Charles Rumback

True North X
True North X

Bartosz Hadala