All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Martino's Waltz by Wayne Wilkinson

From the album

Album Title: Proceed To Route
By: Wayne Wilkinson
Label: Self Produced
Released: 2019
Duration: 52:18


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Maven Martino had a birthday last's a tune for him to dance to. Nicely polished, high calibre grooving from Wayne 'sharp as a razor' Wilkinson.

About the Album

Wayne Wilkinson Trio “Proceed To Route” Wayne Wilkinson’s eighth independent label recording, Proceed To Route, is the first as the Wayne Wilkinson Trio with Wayne Wilkinson on guitar, Andy Burtschi on bass and Todd Williams on drums. The recording also includes special guest Thomas J. Dawson, Jr., musical director of the Commodores, on piano and strings for My Love and Wichita Lineman. All tracks are arranged by Wayne and the album includes many of his originals. The Trio has played together since 2012, opening this year's Vail Jazz Festival, and is known for performing a mix of straight ahead and traditional jazz and American songbook standards, innovative jazz arrangements of other music genres, and inspired original compositions. Martino's Waltz is a tribute to the great Pat Martino. Wayne Wilkinson is a headliner guitarist that performs and tours across the country and internationally. An artist with Benedetto guitars and GHS Strings, playing Henriksen amplifiers, Wilkinson is known for his high-octane melodic playing which jazz trombone legend Bill Watrous said “is the greatest guitar playing I’ve ever heard.” In addition to concerts; jazz clubs; recital series; and jazz events, recent performances have included the London, Tel Aviv, and Vail Jazz Festivals; a United Kingdom Tour, and Hawaii Tour. Throughout his over four decade career, Wayne has shared the stage with iconic jazz musicians, world class performers and a President of the United States, playing at the White House, Carnegie Hall and at major jazz and music festivals with the premier Air Force Jazz Ensembles "The Airmen of Note" and the “Falconaires.”

Track Listing

Track listing 1. Chop House Blues 4:28* Wayne Wilkinson 2. Jumping At The Woodside 4:36 Count Basie 3. Proceed To Route 4:48* Wayne Wilkinson 4. My Love 3:45* Paul McCartney and Linda McCartney 5. Caravan 5:47 Duke Ellington & Juan Tizol 6. Mr. Super Cool 4:55 Wayne Wilkinson 7. Wichita Lineman 5:09* Jimmy Layne Webb 8. Sooner Or Later 4:58 Wayne Wilkinson 9. Cheek To Cheek 6:42 Irving Berlin 10. Martino’s Waltz 5:18* Wayne Wilkinson 11. Hey, I Think This Is For You 4:32 Wayne Wilkinson *Recommended Radio Tracks


Wayne Wilkinson - guitar Andy Burtschi - bass Todd Williams - drums Special guest Thomas J. Dawson, Jr. - Commodores Music Director piano & strings Tracks 4 & 7

Date featured

August 29, 2019

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Free Tracks


Frank Macchia

Brad Vibe - Live
Brad Vibe - Live

Igor Willcox

Chicken Tenders
Chicken Tenders

Daniel Mandrychenko

The Road Less Traveled
The Road Less Traveled

Knoxville Jazz Orchestra