All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


The Beauty of Not Knowing by Ian Michael Brown

From the album

Album Title: The Beauty of Not Knowing
By: Ian Michael Brown
Label: Indie Recordings
Released: 2019
Duration: 01:07:36


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Keeping it real. Not cloying, not crammed, it's music for unravelling minds.

About the Album

First track off the album "The Beauty of Not Knowing" released in July 2019. The song Don't Look Down features solos from bassist Sebastian Forero Barrera, pianist Ian Michael Brown, and tenor saxophonist Eric DeFade. It was written based off a piano ostenato pattern using McCoy style voicings and uses odd meters in the B and D sections. The tune is written in an ABA'C form for the head.

Track Listing

Don't Look Down; The Beauty of Not Knowing; Point of Contact; Moss and Mudd; Prayer to the Morning Light; The Art of Rising and Falling; Thoughts from the Heart; Going Home; A Rose at Dawn; Off Kilter.


Ian Michael Brown: piano & keyboards; Sebastian Forero Barrera: bass; Cristhian Cavanzo: drums; Dave Brown: guitar; Eric DeFade: tenor saxophone.


Date featured

August 10, 2019

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

About Ian Michael Brown
Articles | Calendar | Discography | Photos | More...

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Track of the day

Blues For All
Blues For All

Luke Gillespie


Ezra Weiss

Mystery Rising
Mystery Rising

Rez Abbasi