All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


The Gates by Yao/Smith/Hughes Sextet

From the album

Album Title: The Gates
Label: Shifting Paradigm Records
Released: 2019


Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Loaded from a bygone era, firing on full and hitting the target. Sharp shooting from the Yao/Smith/Hughes Sextet.

About the Album

The Yao Smith Hughes Sextet brings a fresh, new set of original compositions following in the footsteps of the straight-ahead jazz tradition of Detroit. Hard-bopping melodies, tight 3-horn arrangements, colorful voicings, driving swing feel and soulful grooves are all trademarks of "The Gates". Trombonist John Yao, trumpeter Jimmy Smith and saxophonist James Hughes team up for a co-led sextet recording with each leader contributing original compositions. The soulful grooving title track “The Gates,” composed by Jimmy Smith, displays the balanced and clear ensemble blend of the horns.

Track Listing

I-75 @ 5; Hell Gate; Subterranean Miner; The Gates; Ice On Snow; Sophia's Song; The Ride Home; At Peace; Dog Days.


Additional Personnel

John Yao: trombone; Jimmy Smith: trumpet, flugelhorn; James Hughes: soprano/alto/tenor saxophones; Corey Kendrick: piano; Jeff Pedraz: bass; Nick Collins: drums.


Date featured

July 30, 2019

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Free Tracks


Simon Vincent

Painted By Moonlight
Painted By Moonlight

Satoko Fujii

Giant Steps
Giant Steps

Chip Stephens


Fabrice Sotton