All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Blowing Smoke by David Berkman

From the album

Album Title: Six of One
By: David Berkman
Label: Palmetto Records
Released: 2019


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Urbane and full-bodied. Glides along with deft momentum and leaves a pleasing afterglow.

About the Album

"Blowing Smoke" is the first track from David Berkman's album "Six of One," out April 5, 2019 via Palmetto Records. On the album, the pianist/composer explores the rich orchestral colors possible in his three-woodwind sextet, featuring saxophonists Dayna Stephens, Adam Kolker, and Billy Drewes, bassist Chris Lightcap, and drummer Kenneth Salters. Also represented are saxophonist Tim Armacost and percussionist Rogerio Boccato. The album is crafted from the musical personalities of its participants, which Berkman has come to know intimately from five years of performing together and, in some cases, decades of collaboration.

Track Listing

Blowing Smoke; Cynical Episode; Blue Poles; Billy; Sincerely; Three and a Half Minutes; Kickstopper; Shitamachi; Restoration; Rain Rain


David Berkman: piano; Dayna Stephens: saxophone; Adam Kolker: saxophone; Billy Drewes: saxophone; Chris Lightcap: bass; Kenneth Salters: drums

Date featured

May 29, 2019

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Free Tracks

Tu Ne's Jamais Trop Vieux
Tu Ne's Jamais Trop Vieux

Birch Pereira & the Gin Joints

Smells Like Teen Spirit
Smells Like Teen Spirit

Jay Smith Group

Hiroe's Spirit
Hiroe's Spirit

Hiroe Sekine

A Song For You
A Song For You

Noah Peterson