All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Damaged Goods by Monique DeBose

From the album

Album Title: The Sovereign One
By: Monique DeBose
Label: Self Produced
Released: 2018


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Pathos and drama. If it were a movie, the leads would be Kevin Costner and Elisabeth Moss.

About the Album

“Damaged Goods,” the first track on Monique DeBose's album The Sovereign One, pens with the vsinger's rich, velvet vocals supported only by Dylan Meek’s solo piano. The song continues to build in intensity as the impressive group of musicians that Monique has tapped for this album match the power of her expressive lyrics. The tenor sax solo by Kyle O’Donnell (leader of the Sax Offenders and the Saxaholics) gives “Damaged Goods” something of a retro eighties feel, which reflects, as Monique says, “the pondering, woeful, yet strong energy of Sade,” one of her key musical influences.

Track Listing

Damaged Goods; New Wine, Old Skin; Let You Love Me; Invisible; Rally Call; Thank You Victimizer; Valentine


Monique DeBose: Vocals; Thorald Koren: writer and producer, piano and guitar tracking, backing vocals; Isaac Koren: wirter and producer, backing vocals; Shakerleg: drums; Dylan Meek: piano; Edwin Livingston: bass; Kyle O'Donnell: saxophone; Fatima Williams: backing vocals

Date featured

September 21, 2018

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

About Monique DeBose
Articles | Calendar | Discography | Photos | More...

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Track of the day

Blues For All
Blues For All

Luke Gillespie


Ezra Weiss

Mystery Rising
Mystery Rising

Rez Abbasi