All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


"Prologue" by Charlie Porter

From the album

Charlie Porter
Charlie Porter


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Impressive trumpet solo, pellucid and emotional, with the sense of a well tempered, classically trained, mariachi SEAL.

About the Album

"Prologue" is the opening track of the album. Half composed and half improvised, using the themes of the nine tracks to follow, it serves as an Overture for everything to come on the album.

Track Listing

Prologue; Mel Smiles; Rondo for Sticky; New Beginnings; A Lover Scorned; Brown Study; Messenger; Skain Train; Morning Glory; Anthem; Epilogue.


Charlie Porter: trumpet; John Nastos: alto and soprano saxophones; David Evans: tenor saxophone; John Moak: trombone; Majid Khaliq: violin; Christopher Woitach: guitar; David Goldblatt: piano; Greg Goebel: piano; George Colligan: piano; Dan Gaynor: piano; Tim Gilson: bass; Cary Miga: bass; Jon Lakey: bass; Chuck Israels: bass; Bill Athens: bass; Alan Jones: drums; Michael Raynor: drums; Christopher Brown: drums; Mel Brown: drums; Tim Rap: drums.


Date featured

September 13, 2018

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

comments powered by Disqus


Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.



Charlie Porter
Charlie Porter

Album Reviews
Read more articles

Upcoming Shows

Date Detail Price
Charlie Porter
The Liquor Store
Portland, OR