All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


"Itajuba" by Macuco Quintet

From the album

Friendly Signs
Macuco Quintet


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

While the leading and retiring sax phrases may make for glances towards the back mirror, the song as is after the 2min mark is worth the slow build.

About the Album

The title refers to a small beach town in Southern Brazil. The repeated saxophone/bass backgrounds roll in like waves, and alto saxophonist Rick Stone floats over it all. Our album Friendly Signs is mainly a mix of Brazilian and jazz influences with a somewhat unusual instrumentation: three saxophones, electric bass, and drums. Ten original compositions by Joel Springer and one by Julius Hemphill. Hope you like it!

Track Listing

Macucos; Itajuba; Friendly Signs; Modernismo; More Serious; Os Gêmeos; Postcard to Carla; Sun & Clouds; Leaping Over a Black Pool; Johannzinho; Touchic' (by Julius Hemphill).


Allan Chase: soprano, alto, baritone saxophones; Rick Stone: alto saxophone (right channel); Joel Springer: tenor, sopranino saxophones; Fernando Huergo: bass; Austin McMahon: drums, percussion.


Date featured

June 7, 2018

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.



Macuco Quintet
Friendly Signs



Macuco Quintet
Friendly Signs

Album Reviews
Read more articles