All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Ursa Minor/Ursa Major by Jamie Taylor

From the album

Album Title: Ignition (Perpetual Motion Machine)
Released: 2017


Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Contemplative time keeper. Hushed horns cycle with the ease of a later day Penguin Orchestra Café in a misleading intro that stop starts into something fuller, busier and packed with gritty, rock guitar cinematic tension. A fair interpretation of baby bear and big bear.

About the Album

The debut studio release from UK jazz/rock six-piece Perpetual Motion Machine, "Ignition" is a concept album arranged around the theme of infinite or recurring cycles of time. Recurring throughout, the idea appears as much in Dale Harrop's beautiful Escher/DaVinci-inspired cover illustration, as it does in the field recording of the late Dorset stonemason 'Skylark' Durston reading his own poetry on the closing track, "Fog Circle". Unusually, the record is a mixture of original pieces by various band members, and group improvisations performed in the studio, under the direction of producer Sam Hobbs.

Track Listing

Roadside Picnic; Jack Monkey; The Cut; Ignition; The Clock Of The Long Now; Zen; Orbits; Ursa Minor; Ursa Major; Sulphur City Rendezvous; Fog Circle


Additional Personnel

Sam Dunn: guitars; Jamie Taylor: guitars; Riley Stone-Lonergan: tenor saxophone; Ben Lowman: tenor saxophone and bass clarinet; Garry Jackson: bass; Steve Hanley: drums

Date featured

February 8, 2018

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Free Tracks


Simon Vincent

Painted By Moonlight
Painted By Moonlight

Satoko Fujii

Giant Steps
Giant Steps

Chip Stephens


Fabrice Sotton