All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


1 by Satoko Fujii

From the album

Album Title: Fukushima
By: Satoko Fujii
Label: Libra Records
Released: 2017


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

1)............ is the first track from pianist and bandleader Satoko Fujii's monumental album-length composition Fukushima. It's a deeply moving and personal response to the nuclear power plant disaster that shook Japan and the world in 2011. Featuring the 13-piece all-star Satoko Fujii Orchestra New York - Tony Malaby, Ellery Eskelin, Nels Cline, Dave Ballou, Natsuki Tamura, Joey Sellers, Joe Fiedler, Curtis Hasselbring, Stomu Takeishi, Ches Smith, Andy Laster, Oscar Noriega, and Herb Robertson - the album runs the emotional spectrum from despair to hope.

Track Listing

Track 1; Track 2; Track 3; Track 4; Track 5.


Oscar Noriega: alto saxophone; Ellery Eskelin: tenor saxophone; Tony Malaby: tenor saxophone; Andy Laster: baritone saxophone; Dave Ballou: trumpet; Herb Robertson: trumpet; Natsuki Tamura : trumpet; Joey Sellers: trombone; Joe Fiedler: trombone; Curtis Hasselbring: trombone; Nels Cline: guitar; Stomu Takeishi: bass; Ches Smith: drums.


Date featured

June 26, 2019

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Free Tracks


Frank Macchia

Brad Vibe - Live
Brad Vibe - Live

Igor Willcox

Chicken Tenders
Chicken Tenders

Daniel Mandrychenko

The Road Less Traveled
The Road Less Traveled

Knoxville Jazz Orchestra