All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


"Oh, What A Beautiful Morning" by Dave Young / Terry Promane

From the album

Octet Volume Two
Dave Young / Terry Promane
Modica Music


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

A light and breezy whiff of the original, with warm undertones and a sweet afterglow. #classysass

About the Album

The Dave Young / Terry Promane Octet is a dynamic Canadian jazz group co-lead by two renowned JUNO winning musicians: bassist Dave Young and trombonist Terry Promane. Their new album Octet Volume Two features well-crafted originals, lush arrangements of songs from the Great American Song Book, and tributes to the music of jazz greats Dizzy Gillespie, Charles Mingus, and Cedar Walton. Their latest CD, Octet Volume Two, is the follow-up album to their JUNO-nominated debut CD, Octet Volume One (Best Traditional Jazz Album, 2013.) Young and Promane are both prolific and acclaimed performers, having collaborated with many of the top names in jazz, including Oscar Peterson, Clark Terry, Zoot Simms, Rob McConnell and Kirk MacDonald. Octet Volume Two will be released worldwide on Friday, December 8th, 2017.

Track Listing

Oh, What a Beautiful Morning; Duke Ellington's Sounds of Love; I Can't Give You Anything But Love....(baby); Detour Ahead; Bebop; You Must Believe in Spring; Can't You See; Moon and Sand; Jeannine; Hindsight


Dave Young: Bass; Terry Promane: Trombone; Kevin Turcotte: Trumpet; Vern Dorge: Alto Saxophone; Mike Murley: Tenor Saxophone; Perry White: Baritone Saxophone; Dave Restivo: Piano; Terry Clarke: Drums

Date featured

December 5, 2017

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

comments powered by Disqus


Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.