All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Liberation by Satoko Fujii

From the album

Album Title: Aspiration
By: Satoko Fujii
Label: Libra Records
Released: 2017


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

The magnetic call of the killer whale, a frequency so close to beautiful you'll do well to avoid. It took a lot of vibrating atoms to share this. Presumably, that's why the last track of the album is called Stillness.

About the Album

"Liberation" is a track from "Aspiration" featuring pianist and composer Satoko Fujii, trumpeters Wadada Leo Smith and Natsuki Tamura, and laptop player Ikue Mori. Although this is the first time they have worked together as a group, there are ties among them that contribute to the music's beauty and coherence. "Aspiration" is about more than music- it is about sharing and working together, about finding something beautiful and making it more so, and about the spiritual bonds that unite us all.

Track Listing

Intent; Liberation; Floating; Aspiration; Evolution; Stillness.


Wadada Leo Smith: trumpet; Natsuki Tamura: trumpet; Satoko Fujii: piano; Ikue Mori: electronics.


Date featured

November 27, 2017

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

About Satoko Fujii
Articles | Calendar | Discography | Photos | More...

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Track of the day

Blues For All
Blues For All

Luke Gillespie


Ezra Weiss

Mystery Rising
Mystery Rising

Rez Abbasi