All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Potential Energy by Satoko Fujii

From the album

Album Title: Yamiyo Ni Karasu
Label: Libra Records
Released: 2015


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Demanding Mariachi styling, thematic score.

About the Album

“Potential Energy” is a track off pianist-composer Satoko Fujii’s album "Yamiyo Ni Karasu." One of the most original and wide-ranging voices in modern jazz, Satoko Fujii has documented her abilities on more than 70 CDs in less than 20 years. A master of reinvention, pianist-composer Satoko Fujii transforms her New Trio into the wildly inventive quartet Tobira featuring bassist Todd Nicholson, drummer/percussionist Takashi Itani, and the addition of trumpeter Natsuki Tamura. The quartet will release its debut CD, "Yamiyo Ni Karasu", July 14, 2015 on Libra Records.

Track Listing

Hanabi; Run After A Shadow; Fuki; Wind Dance; Centrifugal Force; Potential Energy; Yamiyo Ni Karasu.


Additional Personnel

Satoko Fujii: piano; Natsuki Tamura: trumpet; Todd Nicholson: bass; Takashi Itani: drums.


Date featured

July 13, 2015

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Free Tracks


Sencalar/Glassman Quintet

Front and Center
Front and Center

Larry Tamanini

See the sun rise
See the sun rise

Organic pulse ensemble

Windward Bound
Windward Bound

Dennis Kwok