All About Jazz

Home » Music » Track of the Day


Wonderyear by Angelica Matveeva

From the album

Album Title: Vocalese
Label: Self Produced
Released: 2015


DOWNLOAD TRACK | Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

The musicianship is great on its own, the voice is extra.

About the Album

"Vocalese" is Angelica Matveeva's third album and features existing vocalese pieces as well as completely new compositions, where Matveeva pens her own lyrics to solos by icons Wayne Shorter, Franco Ambrosetti, Clifford Brown, Lou Donaldson and Peter Asplund. The modern sound is the result of a collaboration between two Finnish arrangers Tuomas Juhani Turunen and Ville Vannemaa, and one of the finest younger generation Italian piano trios led by pianist Fabio Giachino.

Track Listing

Wonderyear; You Go To My Head; Ping Pong; Moody’s Mood for Love; Yes or No; Joy Spring; Goodbye Pork Pie Hat; Scrapple from the Apple.


Additional Personnel

Angelica Matveeva: vocal, Manuel Dunkel: tenor saxophone, Jukka Eskola: trumpet, flugelhorn, Fabio Giachino: piano, Davide Liberti: double bass, Ruben Bellavia: drums.


Date featured

February 8, 2015

This track appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Free Tracks


Sencalar/Glassman Quintet

Front and Center
Front and Center

Larry Tamanini

See the sun rise
See the sun rise

Organic pulse ensemble

Windward Bound
Windward Bound

Dennis Kwok